Public transportation in Nebraska is a vital part of the solution to the state’s economic, energy, and health care challenges through providing an alternative in congested urban areas and serving as a lifeline to rural communities. Every $1 invested in public transportation generates approximately $4 in economic returns.

Nebraska Public Transit is a program administered by the Nebraska Department of Transportation. NDOT’s Intermodal Planning Division is responsible for coordinating public transportation activities in Nebraska’s 93 counties and provides technical assistance as requested. NDOT receives money from the Federal Transit Administration and state transportation funds to fulfill requirements set forth by Nebraska Revised Statute 13-1204.

In 2013, NDOT and the University of Nebraska developed a project called Advance to assist with improving and promoting public transit across Nebraska. NDOT sponsors the project collaborating with the Nebraska Safety Center at the University of Nebraska at Kearney College of Business & Technology and the Center for Public Affairs Research at the University of Nebraska at Omaha College of Public Affairs and Community Service.

The Advance team combines experts in the fields of business, safety, technology, research, and public policy to work diligently toward a safer, more efficient, and more reliable public transportation system for everyone. In particular, Advance focuses on the unique mobility challenges faced by our state’s rural residents, many of whom rely on public transportation as a critical point of access to social and economic resources.

The current, five-year portfolio of projects includes:


Dispatch reviews Advance’s recent efforts to promote and support Nebraska Public Transit. Catch up on our latest achievements below.

There are 59 rural transit providers in Nebraska.



646,143 Rural Passenger Boardings in 2018
3,377,392 Rural Miles Traveled in 2018
6,061,870 Urban Passenger Boardings in 2018
6,374,837 Urban Miles Traveled in 2018

Staff Directory

Nebraska Department of Transportation

Ryan HuffIntermodal Planning
Kari RuseTransit Liaison
George GallardoTransportation Planner III402-479-4368
Wayne MasekTransportation Planner
Frank FaughnFederal Aid Administrator
Marisue WagnerFederal Aid Administrator
Linda LangdaleFederal Aid Administrator


Mick AndersonDirector, Nebraska Safety
Kaitlyn RichardsonRural Transit Lead
Darla MorrisBusiness
Erin HowardTransportation Safety


Josie SchaferDirector, Center for Public Affairs
Yu-Che ChenDirector, Global Digital Governance
William BivinStatewide Mobility
Tara GrellGraphic Designer, Center for Public Affairs
Matt HarringtonCommunications Specialist, Center for Public Affairs
Chethan MiriyalaSoftware Developer, Center for Public Affairs
Melanie KiperCommunity Service Specialist, Center for Public Affairs
Jooho LeeAssociate Director, Global Digital Governance

This website is developed and maintained by Advance. It is part of a Statewide Transit Initiative conducted by the University of Nebraska on behalf of the Nebraska Department of Transportation [Project RPT-C990(017)] supported in part by the Federal Transit Administration [PTE Federal Award PL1601 Subaward 17-002-01]. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily represent the official view of the Federal Transit Administration.