The NDOT, along with a broad range of partnering agencies, initiated the Statewide Mobility Management Project in December 2015, with the goal of improving travel options for residents and visitors of the state. To better address the diversity of the state, six regions have been organized along county boundaries – Northwest or Panhandle, Southwest, North Central, South Central, Northeast and Southeast. A Statewide Coordination Committee and six Regional Coordinating Committees (RCC) were established (one for each region) to help understand transit needs and overlaps.

Coordination and travel improvement strategies were identified within each region by means of several meetings and discussions with the RCC, public transit agency officials, staff from the NDOT and the consultant team. A narrative summary of all coordination strategies can be found here. The coordination strategies that were and currently being actively pursued are described under Coordination Strategies.

To learn more about the statewide Mobility Management Project, read the newsletters below.

To explain the concept of coordination committees and mobility management, three handbooks were developed. These handbooks explain the purpose of the committees and mobility manager position and define the roles and responsibilities.

Project Overview (February 2018)

Coordination Strategies:

Southeast Mobility Manager and RCC

Introducing a series of regional mobility managers and RCCs were the two pilot strategies that were identified as part of the project. To further refine the concept and working of the mobility managers and RCCs, the strategy is currently being tested in the southeast region of the state. Read more here:

New Scottsbluff Flexible Route Transit Service

One of the identified needs from the Mobility Management Project for the Panhandle Region was fixed route bus service in the Scottsbluff‐Gering area. At the time, Scotts Bluff County Public Transportation provided demand response service in town and throughout Scotts Bluff County to all residents and visitors. On January 10th 2018, two flexible bus routes started operating along two established bus routes, which arrive and depart as determined by an established schedule, but deviate from the bus route for curb‐to‐curb pickups and drop‐offs within ¾ mile of the bus route, and then return to the fixed route path.

The two deviated fixed routes operate north/south within Scottsbluff, Gering, and Terrytown to provide connections throughout the community, with alignments primarily along 10th Street and Broadway. The routes serve grocery stores, higher density residential areas, major employment areas, medical facilities, and other activity centers. More details about routes and fare structure can be found here.

New Weekly Tryon to North Platte Transit Service

This strategy was aimed at providing transit service to and from North Platte for Tryon residents in McPherson County. In May 2017, Hooker County Public Transportation recently made their demand-response weekly transit service to North Platte available to Tryon residents. This coordination strategy improves the mobility of Tryon residents who did not have any kind of public transit service available to them until May 2017. The strategy leverages existing public transportation in Hooker County for residents traveling to North Platte. The new transit service stops in Tryon to pick up and drop off McPherson County residents at the McPherson County Courthouse.

New Weekly Eustis to Gothenburg Transit Service

This strategy leverages a currently offered RYDE Transit regional service from Lexington to Gothenburg via Farnam (with transit route passing through Eustis) for providing transit service to Gothenburg for residents of Eustis in Frontier County. Until November 2017, Frontier County had no public transit but with the help of coordination with RYDE Transit, Eustis residents now have improved mobility. Offering a stop at Eustis increases the number of passengers per trip which in turn increases the economic benefit to Dawson County and generates more revenue at no additional cost to RYDE Transit.

New Bi-Monthly Lexington to North Platte Transit Service

As part of the Mobility Management initiative, RYDE Transit started a new inter-city public transit service in late October 2017 between Lexington and North Platte. The service operates twice a month on the Highway 30 corridor in Dawson and Lincoln Counties with stops offered in Lexington, Cozad, Gothenburg, Brady and Maxwell to pick-up and drop-off residents wanting to travel to North Platte.

Omaha – Lincoln Commuter Shuttle Concept

This regional coordination strategy leverages the existing shuttle service (N-E Ride) between Lincoln and Omaha provided through the College of Engineering of University of Nebraska. Currently, N-E Ride is a van service available to all College of Engineering faculty, staff and students traveling between engineering buildings in Lincoln and Omaha. Using the shuttle as a backbone, the strategy would be to broaden access to commuters/ others traveling between Omaha and Lincoln.

The strategy identifies an opportunity to leverage the existing service by incorporating some changes in rider eligibility and service schedule. At this time, the service is funded exclusively by the College of Engineering through fees charged to engineering students. Broadening access eligibility to allow the general public to ride could attract commuters traveling between parts of Omaha and parts of Lincoln. Through expanding riders to include the general public, additional funding sources may be available to supplement the College of Engineering investment, including Congestion Mitigation Air Quality Improvement Program (CMAQ) funds.

New Demand-Responsive Tecumseh to Auburn Transit Service

As part of the Mobility Management project, several stakeholder group meetings were held to improve the transit coordination between transit providers to address the gaps and overlaps of service. In the southeast region, one such group meeting involved initiating communication between Johnson County Transit at Tecumseh and Blue Rivers Area Agency on Aging (BRAAA) for potential regional trip coordination. Johnson County Transit offers monthly regional trips to Nebraska City, Beatrice and Lincoln. In September 2017, Johnson County Transit identified a currently unmet transit need for regional service from Tecumseh to Auburn in Nemaha County. Since it was not feasible for Johnson County Transit to meet the demand at the time, coordination with BRAAA helped in addressing the need. BRAAA started a demand-responsive Tecumseh to Auburn transit trip for residents of Tecumseh. The service not only improves mobility for Tecumseh residents but also increases economic activity in Auburn.

Contact Information

NDOT Project Manager
Kari Ruse
Transit Liaison Manager
1400 Highway 2
Lincoln, NE 68508
(402) 479-4694